Top login menu

Murray Edwards College
University of Cambridge

Directors of Studies

  • Home
  • Main page content

    Each student has a Director of Studies, who is a senior member of the University (and usually a Fellow of Murray Edwards College) and who oversees your academic career while at Cambridge. They will monitor and discuss your progress with you, arrange your supervisions and can advise you on issues relating to your course.

    You can expect to see your Director of Studies at the start and end of every term, and they will discuss your supervision reports in these meetings.

    If you need to see your Director of Studies at any other time, you should arrange an appointment via email. 

    Directors of Studies


    Director of Studies


    Anglo-Saxon, Norse & Celtic

    Dr Debby Banham


    Dr Paola Filippucci


    Ms Mary Ann Steane

    Asian & Middle Eastern Studies 

    Mrs Farida El Keiy

    Chemical Engineering

    Dr Patrick Barrie


    Dr Hannah Willey

    Computer Science 

    Ms Luana Bulat


    Dr Juan Block


    Dr Anna Maria Kypraiou

    English Part IA
    English Part I 

    Dr Leo Mellor

    English Prelim for Part II
    English Part II

    Dr Jennifer Bavidge


    Dr Michael Herzog

    History Prelims /Year 1 Dr Lucy Delap

    History Part I/Year 2

    Dr Rachel Leow

    History Part II/Year 3

    Dr Lucy Delap

    History & Modern Languages Year 1


    History & Modern Languages Year 2




    History & Modern Languages Year 3 and Year 4

    Dr Rachel Leow and Dr Charlotte Lee


    Dr Rachel Leow and Dr Rachel Polonsky




    Dr Rachel Leow & Dr Emanuela Davey and




    History & Politics 

    Dr Lucy Delap & Dr Evaleila Pesaran &

    History of Art

    Dr Lydia Hamlett

    Human, Social & Political Sciences Part I 

    Dr Paola Filippucci

    Human, Social & Political Sciences Part II (Social Anthropology, Sociology)

    Human Social & Political Sciences Part II (Politics & International Relations)

    Human, Social & Political Sciences Part II (Politics & Sociology)

    Dr Paola Filippucci

    Dr Evaleila Pesaran

    Mr Gavin Stevenson

    Land Economy

    Dr Thies Lindenthal

    Master of Law (LLM)
    Master of Corporate Law (MCL)

    Dr Tom Fairclough

    Law Part IA
    Law Part IB

    Law Part II

    Dr Mohamed Mousa


    Dr Dora Alexopoulou

    Management Studies

    Dr Thomas Roulet

    Master of Advanced Study in Applied Mathematics

    Mr James Dougal

    Medical Sciences (Pre-clinical) Dr Julia Turner

    Clinical Medicine Year 4

    Dr Nicola Jones

    Clinical Medicine Year 5

    Dr Juliet Usher-Smith 

    Clinical Medicine Year 6

    Dr Ruchi Sinnatamby

    Modern & Medieval Languages Part IA

    Dr Charlotte Lee
    Modern & Medieval Languages Part IB Dr Rachel Polonsky

    Modern & Medieval Languages Year Abroad
    Modern & Medieval Languages Part II

    Dr Emanuela Davey


    Dr Ewan Campbell

    Natural Sciences (Biological) Part IA

    Dr Aleksandra Watson

    Natural Sciences (Biological) Part IB

    Dr Elizabeth Callery

    Natural Sciences (Physical) Part IA

    Dr Alex Piotrowski

    Natural Sciences (Physical) Part IB 

    Dr Sarah Williams (Michaelmas Term 2021)

    Dr Will Buttinger (Lent and Easter Terms 2022)

    Natural Sciences: Biochemistry Dr Aleksandra Watson

    Natural Sciences: Chemistry

    Dr Robert Less

    Natural Sciences: Earth Sciences Dr Alex Piotrowski

    Natural Sciences: Genetics

    Dr Tim Hearn

    Natural Sciences: History & Philosophy of Science

    Dr Richard Jennings

    Natural Sciences: Materials Science

    Dr Robert Thompson

    Natural Sciences: Pathology

    Dr Julia Turner

    Natural Sciences: Pharmacology

    Dr Simon Bulley

    Natural Sciences:
    Part II Physics
    Part II Astrophysics
    Part II Experimental & Theoretical Physics

    Dr Helena Knowles (Michaelmas Term 2021)

    Dr Will Buttinger (Lent and Easter Terms 2022)

    Natural Sciences:
    Part III Physics
    Master of Advanced Study in Physics
    Master of Advanced Study in Astrophysics
    Master of Advanced Study in Experimental & Theoretical Physics

    Dr Sarah Williams

    Natural Sciences: Physiology, Development & Neuroscience

    Dr Gareth Matthews

    Natural Sciences: Plant Sciences

    Dr Nick Mundy

    Natural Sciences:
    Psychology, Neuroscience & Behaviour

    Dr Thomas Cope

    Natural Sciences: Systems Biology

    Dr David Shorthouse

    Natural Sciences: Zoology

    Dr Nick Mundy

    Psychological & Behavioural Sciences

    Dr Lucy MacGregor

    Theology, Religion & Philosophy of Religion

    Dr Ruth Jackson Ravenscroft

    Veterinary Sciences (Pre-clinical)
    Clinical Veterinary Medicine

    Dr Frances Henson